Sgt. Neil Dickenson of the Minnesota State Patrol
It is illegal if any part of the taillight or license plate is blocked by a bike, carrier or any other object. A vehicle built after 1960 must have two red tail lights that are plainly visible at 500 feet to the rear, and the license plate must be displayed in a manner that the view of any plate or permit isn't obstructed.
Question: Can you please explain the new hands-free cellphone law?
Question: I have a North Dakota commercial driver's license (CDL) Class A permit, but my employer is in the Minnesota area. Can I legally drive on my Class A CDL permit in Minnesota if I have a licensed CDL Class A driver with me in the Minnesota area to get my behind-the-wheel experience? Or do I have to be in North Dakota for my permit to be valid?
Question: Why have they not passed a law regarding animals hanging out a driver's side window, paws on the steering wheel and animals jumping from the front seat to the backseat?
Question: Are drivers required to use turn signals when entering or exiting a roundabout? With a newly constructed roundabout very recently opened in town, I have not once observed a turn signal used. What is the law? Answer: Minnesota state law says that a signal of intention to turn right or left shall be given continuously during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning. A person whose vehicle is exiting a roundabout is exempt from this law. So per state law a signal is not required once in a roundabout.
Question: I recently moved to Minnesota, where and I am living with a cousin of mine. I am writing to you concerning driving legally within the state. Back in my native country, Kenya, I am licensed to drive, and currently, I have that license with me. I also obtained an international driving permit from the necessary licensing body back in Kenya. Are these documents sufficient to allow me to drive within the state of Minnesota before I am able to acquire the state's driving license? Thank you for your time and consideration.
Question: I was wondering what to do at pedestrian flashing crosswalk lights.
Question: What are the rules about who has to pull into a weigh station? Two specifics: a three-quarter-ton pickup — licensed as a car, with a heavy trailer — and an RV-type camper. Answer: If the vehicle or combination of vehicles is in excess of 10,000 pounds actual weight or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), then it needs to enter a weigh station.
Over the last five years (2013-17) in Minnesota, distracted or inattentive driving was a contributing factor in an average of 54 deaths and 221 serious injuries each year. The Department of Traffic Safety Office of Traffic Safety estimates these numbers are underreported due to law enforcement's challenge in determining distraction as a crash factor.
Minnesota state law says that a service vehicle shall not display a lighted lamp when traveling on the highway or at any other time except at the scene of a disabled vehicle or while conducting snow removal or road maintenance. Any service vehicle may be equipped with a flashing amber lamp of a type approved by the commissioner of public safety.