Auto racing: Heikkinen and Hron take checkered flags on night marred by serious accident

Grand Rapids' Dave Whirley taken to hospital after crashing in vintage car race.

Patrick Heikkinen and Ken Hron won Sprint Car features Friday at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior on a night marred by a serious accident in a vintage car heat race.

Patrick Heikkinen and Ken Hron won Sprint Car features Friday at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior on a night marred by a serious accident in a heat of the Northern Vintage Stockcar Racers special event.

The second NVSR heat was for the Super Modified vintage cars, a race that never finished. According to track reporter Jerry O’Brien, Dave Whirley of Grand Rapids went straight in the fourth turn, hit the wall and another car and rolled his car on top of the wall. There was a long delay while Whirley was extracted from the vehicle, with the rescue truck from the nearby Superior Fire Department assisting EMTs already on the scene. He was taken to the local hospital. In lieu of the seriousness of the incident, the club withdrew from the rest of the event.

According to speedway promoter Joe Stariha, Whirley was in the ICU and in stable condition as of 11 a.m. Saturday.

Besides Heikkinen’s feature victory in the Upper Midwest Sprint Car Series and Hron’s win in the Northern Renegades Non-Winged Sprint Cars special, Brandon Copp (Modifieds), Jack Rivord (Midwest Modifieds), Jared Akervik (Pure Stocks) and Carson Gotelaere (Hornets) were Friday’s other feature winners.

Gondik Law Speedway
Friday’s Feature Results
Upper Midwest Sprint Car Series


1. Patrick Heikkinen, 2. Chase Viebrock, 3. Lance Solem, 4. Mark Chevalier, 5. Caley Emerson, 6. Zach Olson, 7. Jamey Ogston, 8. Todd Hansen, 9. Trevor Reding, 10. Casey Lang, 11. Brad Larson. DNF: Danny Wait Jr., Carter Chevalier, Jesse Grife. DNS: Ken Hron, Bob McVitty.

Northern Renegades Non-Winged Sprint Cars

1. Ken Hron, 2. Chris Lewis, 3. Jori Hughes, 4. Caley Emerson, 5. Zach Olson, 6. Paul Schultz, 7. Jesse Grife, 8. Jake Barsness, 9. Allen Stettner, 10. Teal Arnason, 11. Brad Larson, 12. Casey Lang. DNF: Danny Wait Jr., Lucas Logue.


1. Brandon Copp, 2. Dave Cain, 3. Skeeter Estey, 4. Jody Bellefeuille, 5. Johnny Broking, 6. Danny Vang, 7. Dan Kingsley, 8. Rick Rivord, 9. Bob Broking, 10. Mike Klippenstein. DNF: Shaun Kreyer, Al Uotinen, Donnie Lofdahl.

Midwest Modifieds

1. Jack Rivord, 2. Brady Uotinen, 3. Jimmy Latvala, 4. Shane Howell, 5. Kyle Kirberger, 6. Paul Ripley, 7. Dalton Mains, 8. Andrew Inman, 9. McLean Andrews, 10. Tanner Gehl, 11. Ryan Savoy, 12. Evan Checkalski, 13. Jesse Polson, 14. Zach Slayton, 15. Mason Musel, 16. Jad Carlson, 17. Chris Bretting. DNS: Cody Carlson.

Pure Stocks


1. Jared Akervik, 2. Cory Jorgensen, 3. Tim Carlson, 4. Aaron Bernick, 5. Tom Treviranus, 6. Nate Rose, 7. Eric Lillo, 8. A.J. House, 9. Travis Zembo, 10. Anthony Woodhull, 11. Trevor Treviranus. DNF: Jason Simonson. DNS: Dylan Shelton, Jessie Limberios.


1. Carson Gotelaere, 2. Tyler Schramm, 3. Justin Barsness, 4. Reid Johnson, 5. Kristy Marken, 6. Patrick Passeri, 7. Ken Hapy, 8. Casey Fitzpatrick, 9. DeJay Jarecki. DNF: Nathan Rose Jr., Hunter McDougall.

What To Read Next
Cloquet High School grad Aidan Ripp was one of six student-athletes competing for Team USA in the Nordic Combined event at the 2023 FISU World University Games in Lake Placid, New York.
Peterson’s unassisted goal lifts Springfield to the NAHL home win.
Thoreson’s third-period goal is the difference as Posch is tough in net for Minnesota.
Kevin Marx Noren's third-period goal decided it.