Auto racing: Former track champions still got ‘it’ at Halvor Lines Speedway

Nelson, Bellefeuille and Lawrence all victorious Sunday in Proctor.

Former track champions Darrell Nelson, Jody Bellefeuille and Scott Lawrence all claimed victories Sunday at Halvor Lines Speedway.
We are part of The Trust Project.

PROCTOR — Former track champions Darrell Nelson, Jody Bellefeuille and Scott Lawrence all claimed victories Sunday at Halvor Lines Speedway.

Nelson, coming off a victory in the Wissota Challenge Series, outpaced Danny Vang and Max Nelson to win the 20-lap Late Model feature. The veteran driver from Hermantown almost made it a double but Bellefeuille, of Carlton, held him off to win the Modified feature, while Lawrence, the longtime Superior stalwart, was tops in Super Stocks.

Austin Blom took the feature in Midwest Modifieds while Cory Jorgensen (Pure Stocks) and A.J. House (Hornets) earned clean sweeps by winning both their heats and features, with House holding off his brother, Kyle, to win the Hornets finale.

Car counts were weak as drivers are bearing the brunt of high fuel prices. That included only nine entries in the normally popular Midwest Modified division.

Halvor Lines Speedway


Sunday’s Feature Results

Late Models

1. Darrell Nelson, 2. Danny Vang, 3. Max Nelson, 4. Tim McMann, 5. Aaron Lillo, 6. Kevin Carlson, 7. Ronnie Malecki, 8. Terry Lillo, 9. Chris Lillo, 10. Jordan Grimm. DNF: Robbie Cooper, Kevin Burdick.


1. Jody Bellefeuille, 2. Darrell Nelson, 3. Brandon Copp, Donnie Lofdahl, 5. Parker Anderson, 6. Jack Rivord, 7. Mike Klippenstein, 8. Hunter Anderson.

Super Stocks

1. Scott Lawrence, 2. Nick Oreskovich, 3. Kyle Copp, 4. D.J. Keeler, 5. Brian Carl, 6. Taylor Madrinich. DNF: Dan Peterson, Mike Sirois, Jase Lien. DNS: Willie Johnsen Jr.

Midwest Modifieds

1. Austin Blom, 2. Taylor Madrinich, 3. McLean Andrews, 4. Jimmy Latvala, 5. Evan Checkalski, 6. Carey LePage, 7. Todd Carlson, 8. Matt Sorenson. DNF: Paul Ripley.

Pure Stocks

1. Cory Jorgensen, 2. Aaron Bernick, 3. Tyler Kachinske, 4. Jake Smith, 5. Nate Rose, 6. Guy Gaskill, 7. Tom Treviranus, 8. Anthony Woodhull, 9. David Pederson, 10. Jessie Limberios.


1. A.J. House, 2. Kyle House, 3. Brady Albertson, 4. Derek Ament, 5. Kristy Marken, 6. Rick Andrews Jr., 7. Caleb Decker, 8. Lucas Lillo, 9. Rick Andrews Sr., 10. Riley Ament, 11. Eva Lillo.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Kausch and Johnson come up big in NAHL road win.
Murnieks scores game winner, Bolo comes up big in net for St. Cloud.