Weather Forecast


Minnesota names Esse Class AA Coach of the Year

Cloquet-Esko-Carlton boys hockey coach Dave Esse has earned statewide honors for his performance in guiding the Lumberjacks to the Section 7AA semifinals.

At the recent state tournament, Esse added to his honor list as Section 7AA Coach of the Year by being named Minnesota Class AA Coach of the Year by the Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association.

Esse led his team to a 16-9-2 record this season before CEC lost 1-0 to Duluth East in the Section 7AA semifinals. This year's Lumberjacks team had a substantial number of younger players, including sophomores, in key positions.

"The award is for all of us," Esse said. "CEC youth coaches, and our high school staff. I'm very proud of everyone and their dedication to the game of hockey."

St. Paul Johnson head coach Steven "Moose" Younghans was named the Class A Coach of the Year by the same organization.