Primary election set for Sept. 9

The 2008 Primary Election in Carlton County is coming up next Tuesday, Sept. 9. Among candidate races to be contested in this year's Carlton County primary will be the District 3 commissioner's seat, with newcomers Mark Roberts, Gary Gatewood and...

The 2008 Primary Election in Carlton County is coming up next Tuesday, Sept. 9.

Among candidate races to be contested in this year's Carlton County primary will be the District 3 commissioner's seat, with newcomers Mark Roberts, Gary Gatewood and Thomas Proulx vying for the post soon to be vacated by Commissioner Mel Tan.

Roberts, age 52, lives in Cloquet and is employed as a senior design technician at SEH consulting firm in Duluth.

Gatewood, age 51, of Cloquet is employed by Omar's Sand & Gravel as a company driver.

Rounding out the field is Proulx, 43, who serves as a juvenile probation officer with Arrowhead Regional Corrections.


The top two vote getters will move on to the Nov. 4 General Election.

Also on the primary election ballot for residents of the Cromwell School District will be an Excess Debt Service Levy Bond Referendum. The referendum would give voters the opportunity to renew, or not renew, the operating referendum originally approved in October 1999 and reauthorized in December 2004 and again in December 2006.

Among the non-partisan voting on the primary ballot will be the contest for Associate Supreme Court Justice 3 among candidates Paul H. Anderson, Alan Lawrence Nelson and Tim Tingelstad. Running for the right to move on to the General Election in the race for Associate Supreme Court Justice 4 are Jill Clark, F. Richard Gallo Jr., Lorie Skjerven Gildea and Deborah Hedlund.

Also on the upcoming primary election ballot will be partisan balloting regarding the Republican Party candidate for the U.S. Senate, with a contest between incumbent Norm Coleman and Jack Shepard. The race for DFL candidate for the U.S. Senate includes candidates Alve Erickson, Priscilla Lord Faris, Rob Fitzgerald, Al Franken, "Dick" Franson, Bob Larson and Ole Savior. Vying for the go ahead nod for Independence Party candidate for the U.S. Senate are Kurt Michael Anderson, Dean Barkley, Bill Dahn, Darryl Stanton, Jack Uldrich, Doug Williams and Stephen Williams.

The following Carlton County townships and cities will conduct their Sept. 9 primary and Nov. 4 general elections by mail ballot: Beseman Township, Clear Creek Township, Red Clover Township, city of Kettle River, Kalevala Township, Sawyer Township, Corona Township, Split Rock Township, city of Thomson, Holyoke Township, Wrenshall Township, city of Wrenshall, Progress Township, city of Cromwell and city of Wright.

Non-forwarded mail ballots have been sent to all persons residing in those municipalities who registered at least 21 days prior to the Sept. 9 primary election. Completed mail ballots should be returned to the Carlton County auditor's office either via United States mail or in person by going to the second floor of the Carlton County Courthouse between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

No primary election ballots will be accepted after 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 9.

If desired, residents of precincts where mail ballots are required may also register and vote in person at the county auditor's office on Sept. 9 between the hours of 7 a.m. and 8 p.m.


Residents wishing to vote absentee prior to the Sept. 9 primary election can do so at the county auditor's office between the hours of 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 6, and up until 5 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 8. Residents of the city of Cloquet also have the option of voting absentee at Cloquet City Hall during those same hours.

Voters with a primary election slated in their district should vote in person in the following polling places: Atkinson and Twin Lakes townships, Carlton County Transportation Building, 1630 County Rd. 61, Carlton; Autumba Township, 6956 County Rd. 6, Kettle River; Barnum, Barnum Fire Hall, 3842 Church Street, Barnum; Blackhoof, Blackhoof Town Hall, 3148 County Rd. 5, Barnum; Mahtowa, Mahtowa Fire/Town Hall, 2790 County Rd. 141, Mahtowa; Moose Lake, Moose Lake Civic and Community Center, 313 Elm, Moose Lake; Silver Township, Kettle River Snowmobile Club, 5585 County Rd. 12, Kettle River; Silver Brook Township, Silver Brook Town Hall, 401 Alcohol Rd., Wrenshall; Skelton Township, Skelton Town Hall, 3502 County Rd. 157, Barnum; Thomson Township, Thomson Town Hall, 25 E. Harney Rd., Esko; Eagle Township, Cromwell-Wright Public School, 5624 Highway 210, Cromwell; Perch Lake Township, Perch Lake Town Hall, 2757 Big Lake Rd., Cloquet.

Cloquet voters who vote by wards and precincts go to the following polling places: Ward 1, Gospel Tabernacle Church, 1400 Washington Ave.; Ward 2, Garfield Community Center, 302 14th St.; Ward 3, Cloquet City Hall, 1307 Cloquet Ave.; Ward 4, National Guard Armory, 801 Highway 33 South; Ward 5 (Precinct 1), Our Redeemer Lutheran Church, 515 Skyline Blvd; Ward 5 (Precinct 2), Fond du Lac Head Start, 105 University Rd.; Scanlon, Scanlon Community Center, 2801 Dewey Ave.

All wards and precincts in Cloquet, Barnum, Carlton, Moose Lake and Scanlon open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m., along with most townships. The exceptions are Lakeview Township, which opens at 10 a.m. and Mahtowa Township, which opens at 8 a.m.

What To Read Next