Minnesota casts its 10 Electoral College votes for Biden-Harris

All 10 of Minnesota's electors remained faithful to the state's popular vote for President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.

Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon presides over Minnesota's electoral college vote in the state House chambers on Monday, Dec. 14, 2020. The electors cast 10 electoral college votes for President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris. Photo courtesy of Secretary of State livestream.
We are part of The Trust Project.

ST. PAUL — All 10 of Minnesota's Electoral College votes have officially been cast for President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.

Biden and Harris prevailed in Minnesota over incumbent President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence by more than 7 percentage points in November's general election, according to official and certified results from the Minnesota Secretary of State's Office . According to Minnesota state law, all 10 of the state's Electoral College votes are to go to the winner of the popular vote in the state.

Convening in the Minnesota House chambers on Monday, Dec. 14, all 10 of Minnesota's electors remained faithful to the state's election results. Eight alternate electors were present, as well. They followed public health experts' social-distancing guidelines amid the coronavirus pandemic, and wore face masks.

Biden won more than 52% of the vote in Minnesota to Trump's 45%.

In his opening remarks before the electors, Secretary of State Steve Simon said "there are those in our country who have tried to cast doubt" on the fairness and accuracy of the election results. But Simon asserted that Americans' votes were cast, counted (sometimes recounted) and certified properly, and that courts have upheld the validity of the results after dozens of challenges.


"This meeting of the electoral college in Minnesota and in all U.S. jurisdictions will be the latest verification and validation that democracy worked in America in 2020," he said.

Minnesota's U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar is the top Democrat on the Senate's Rules Committee, which will complete the process of finalizing the election results in Congress. In a written statement, she said Monday's electoral college votes across the country "affirm the historic election of President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris."

"Now that the states have certified their results, I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle and the incoming Biden Administration to help our country recover from this pandemic and get our economy back on track," she said.

Simon said Monday that the electors' votes "will hasten a transition of power in our country" from Trump's single-term, outgoing administration to Biden's incoming — a process which has happened nine times in American history, he said.

"That transition of power has always been peaceful, orderly and accepted by the American people," he said. "This year should be no different."

Mearhoff is a Minnesota Capitol Correspondent for Forum News Service. You can reach her at or 651-290-0707.
What to read next
The 12 plaintiffs suffered injuries including bruising from less-lethal munitions, lingering respiratory issues from tear gas and psychological trauma, the ACLU said.