Northland candidates in running for 'Minnesota Teacher of the Year'

Five Northland teachers have been listed among the 77 candidates nominated for 2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Minnesota Teacher of the Year logo
2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year
Contributed / Education Minnesota

DULUTH — Five Northland candidates are among 77 nominated for "Minnesota Teacher of the Year."

The program celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota and eligible candidates include pre-K-12, early childhood family education and adult basic education teachers from public and private schools. The program is organized by Education Minnesota.

An independent panel will read candidates’ portfolios over the next few weeks and narrow the list to a group of semifinalists. In March, the panel will meet again and choose a group of finalists.

The candidates from the Northland:

  • Kayla Host, Aitkin Public Schools
  • Debra Hannu, Duluth Public Schools
  • Brad Hubred, Moose Lake Community School
  • Tyler Blom, Proctor Public Schools
  • Julie Hebb, Willow River Area Schools
What To Read Next
Before posting for the position, the Wrenshall School Board is looking for community input on how the district should format its superintendent position for next year.
Gov. Tim Walz approved the relief funds Wednesday. Carlton County also received an undisclosed amount.
To submit an event to the community calendar, email
On Jan. 22, Ryan Manahan and his friends built the pit, which will be stored until the snow melts and then placed outside Barnum Elementary School.