Kettle River, Moose Lake mayors retain seats, Stigers elected Scanlon mayor

Here are the unofficial results of contested Carlton County municipal races, as reported by the Minnesota Secretary of State.

A sign on the Thomson Town Hall lists the hours the polls are open Tuesday, Nov. 8.
Amy Arntson / Cloquet Pine Journal
We are part of The Trust Project.

CLOQUET — Voters reelected mayors in Kettle River and Moose Lake, while voters in Scanlon tapped Ron Stigers to lead their city.

The unofficial election results were reported around 11 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 8, by the Minnesota Secretary of State. Below is a list of the contested municipal races in Carlton County and their outcomes based on the unofficial results.

Carlton County Board–District 4

Sue Zmyslony defeated incumbent Mark Thell by 84 votes, according to the Secretary of State's Office. Zmyslony received 1,968 votes — good for 50.8% — to Thell's 1,884, or 48.6%.

Carlton City Council

Incumbent Brent Bodie and newcomer David Sobczak earned seats on the Carlton City Council. Incumbent Denise Coleman Lyng was the third-highest vote getter, which was not enough to earn reelection. Bodie received 38.8% of the vote, Sobczak received 34.9% and Coleman Lyng received 25.9%.

Holyoke Township Supervisor–Seat A

Linda McCuskey beat Bruce Heikes for Seat A on the Holyoke Township Board by a margin of 53%-43%.


Kettle River Mayor

Incumbent David Lucas defeated Monique Doward by a margin of 71%-28%.

Kettle River City Council

Miya Kohmetscher and Elizabeth Mascarenas were reelected to the Kettle River City Council, defeating Jesse Kemp. Kohmetscher and Mascarenas earned 42.3% and 38.9% of the vote, respectively, compared to Kemp's 14.4%.

Esko Resident Lori Engen.jpg
Esko resident Lori Engen listens to instructions from the election judge at Thomson Town Hall on Tuesday, Nov. 8.
Amy Arntson / Cloquet Pine Journal

Moose Lake Mayor

Incumbent Ted Shaw defeated challenger Jim Michalski for Moose Lake mayor by a margin of 67%-31%.

Moose Lake Township Supervisor–Seat A

Tracy Matuseski was elected to fill Seat A on the Moose Lake Township Board of Supervisors. Matuseski received 44.5% of the vote, compared to Philip Lattu with 33.9% and Mark Vichorek with 20.6%.

Scanlon Mayor

Ron Stigers beat Joshua Kolodge to serve as the next mayor of Scanlon. Voters supported Stigers with 58.4% of the vote, compared to Kolodge's 39.9%.

Scanlon City Council

Mike Berthiaume and Cody Grashorn will serve on the Scanlon City Council. The vote totals were reported by the Secretary of State's Office: Berthiaume received 31.5%; Grashorn earned 26.8%; Marshall Johnson received 23.5%; and Jesse Johnson earned 17.4%.


Special Scanlon City Council election

Annette Bryant defeated Jason Bartl in a special election for Scanlon City Council, 54%-43%.

Silver Brook Township Supervisor At Large

Duane Laveau and Randy Wolf will serve on the Silver Brook Township Board of Supervisors after garnering 42.7% and 41.8% of the vote, respectively. Mike Tondryk received 15.2%, failing to earn a seat on the board.

Thomson Township Supervisor — Seat A

Incumbent Terry Hill beat newcomer Amna Hanson for Seat A on the Thomson Township Board of Supervisors. Hill received 66.6% of the vote, while Hanson earned 32.9%.

Thomson Township Supervisor — Seat B

Incumbent Ruth Janke defeated newcomer Parrish Silbernagel for Seat B on the Thomson Township Board of Supervisors. Janke received 78.5% of the vote, compared to 20.9% for Silbernagel.

Thompson Town Hall.jpg
Lines were steady Tuesday, Nov. 8, as voters waited to cast their ballots at Thomson Town Hall.
Amy Arntson / Cloquet Pine Journal

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
As reported by Carlton County District Court.
Read the latest news in the Carlton County, Dontcha Know newsletter published every Friday.
You might see the great-great-granddaughter of John Beargrease collecting banners at Billy’s or at the big finish in Grand Portage.
The Forum Communications newspapers received accolades in the 2022 Better Newspaper Contest.