We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Boyechko wins Minnesota Senate District 11 primary

A farmer from Tamarack, Boyechko beat Democratic challenger John A. Peura, who received 38% of the vote. She will now face Sen. Jason Rarick in the general election.

Boyechko and Rarick.
Michelle Boyechko, left, and Jason Rarick.
We are part of The Trust Project.

CLOQUET — Michelle Boyechko garnered nearly 62% of the vote Tuesday, Aug. 9, to win the Democratic primary for Minnesota Senate District 11.

A farmer from Tamarack, Boyechko beat Democratic challenger John A. Peura, who received 38% of the vote.

Boyechko will now face Republican incumbent Sen. Jason Rarick in the November general election. Rarick, a self-employed electrical contractor from Pine City, was first elected to state office in 2014, when he served as state representative for House District 11B. He was elected to the state Senate during a special election in 2019, after Gov. Tim Walz appointed then-Sen. Tony Lourey to serve in his cabinet.

Senate District 11 includes all of Carlton and Pine Counties, as well as part of southern St. Louis County and eastern Kanabec County.

The statewide office doesn’t always grab headlines in an election year, and the work of the auditor is often not as political or high-profile as other offices says Julie Blaha, a DFLer who is running for her second term in the office.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
The proposed amount of $7,434,749.86 marks a 6.26% rise from last year’s levy.
The county's preliminary levy was approved at $32,286,408 for 2023, an increase of $2 million compared to 2022.
Cindy Bourn, Debra Washenesky and Jack Eudy answered questions about the district's budget and items they felt were hot-button issues. The event Thursday came on the heels of a candidate forum hosted by Education Minnesota Wrenshall in which the incumbents declined to participate.
A ribbon-cutting ceremony followed by an open house took place Thursday, Sept. 22, to celebrate the new space.