Weather Forecast


Local candidates begin filing for office

The candidate filing period for city of Cloquet, Carlton County and various state and federal offices opened Tuesday, May 22.

In Cloquet, former city councilor Lara Wilkinson was the first to file Tuesday morning, paying the $5 fee to run for the at-large Cloquet City Council seat vacated by Adam Bailey when he moved outside the city limits last month.

Barb Wyman also filed for the at-large seat; Wyman was appointed to fill Bailey’s seat for the rest of the year by Mayor Dave Hallback at the most recent City Council meeting.

Both Wyman and Wilkinson have been elected to and served as at-large councilor for one term previously.

Political newcomer Dakota Koski also filed Tuesday morning for the Ward 3 Council spot currently held by Roger Maki, while current mayor Dave Hallback filed for re-election (see “Cloquet mayor files for second term” on Page A3).

No one has filed yet for Ward 1 or Ward 2 Cloquet City Council positions. The Ward 1, 2 and 3 elections are for four-year terms; the at-large election is for the remaining two years of Bailey’s term.

Mostly incumbents have filed so far at the Carlton County Courthouse, according to County Auditor/Treasurer Paul Gassert.

Gassert filed for his own position, as did incumbents Sheriff Kelly Lake, County Attorney Thom Pertler and District 2 Carlton County Commissioner Marv Bodie.

Four people filed for District 4 Carlton County Commissioner, including incumbent Susan Zmyslony and challengers Mark Thell, Randy McCuskey and Brenda Martini.

Other local elected positions that must file during this period include state representative 11A, Carlton County Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor for districts 2 and 3. For all other categories, including townships, school districts and municipalities (other than Cloquet) without a primary election, the filing period runs July 31 through Aug. 14.

Filing fees vary, depending on the office. The fee for county commissioner is $50, SWCD is $20 and Cloquet City Council is $5.