Weather Forecast


Governor declares emergency after severe weather


Gov. Mark Dayton signed an emergency executive order July 5 declaring a peacetime emergency for 36 Minnesota counties and one tribal nation following severe weather and flooding in June. The order gives the counties and reservation access to state disaster funds and state aid as well as access to help from all state agencies.

Although the affected communities are spread across the state and the weather events were different, local counties, including Carlton, Aitkin, Pine and St. Louis, were part of the declaration and suffered damages from storms that hit June 15-18.

Carlton County Emergency Management Director Steve VanKekerix said the declaration also opens up the possibility that all of the counties may get federal assistance if damages exceed $7.7 million.

VanKekerix said his latest update put the number at $1.31 million in public infrastructure damages for Carlton County, but he expects that number to grow.