CEC girls Nordic team first in conference


The Cloquet-Esko-Carlton girls Nordic ski team grabbed first place in the Lake Superior Conference meet Friday, with a team score of 385, versus 377 for Proctor-Hermantown, 362 for Duluth Denfeld and 169 for Duluth Marshall. The boys team finished second to Proctor-Hermantown.The girls team had five finish in the top 10 for the conference, while the boys had three.

The conference meet was held during the Duluth East Invitational at Snowflake and was a pursuit race, with the competitors racing on skate skis first and classic skis later, when they were lined up to start according to their finish order from the first race.

Assistant Coach Ben Croft, who is taking the lead role while head coach Glen Sorenson recovers from surgery, said the conditions were challenging but the girls pulled through.

It should come as no surprise, since the dearth of snow this winter has made it impossible to even groom the team’s training ground at Pine Valley for classic skiing, although the trails have been groomed for skate skiing recently.

Croft more optimistic about the team’s next two meets, especially the section meet at Giants Ridge next week, because the resort got 4 inches of snow this week already.

See complete race results with this story online at www.pinejournal.com.

Friday, January 23

Lake Superior Conference Meet

Boys Team Results

1. Proctor-Hermantown 392, 2. Cloquet-Esko-Carlton 367, 3. Duluth Denfeld 353, 4. Duluth Marshall 339.

CEC Boys Individual Results (Freestyle & Classic)

7. Aiden Ripp, 31:28.3; 9. Robbie Sobzak, 32:04.3; 10. Joey Gotchnik, 32:22.8; 11. Jack Waugh, 32:40.5; 12. Nolan Ripp, 32:40.8; 14. Isaac Boedigheimer, 32:55.4; 15. Parker Sinkkonen, 33:08.0; 16. Luke Tomhave, 33:49.1; 17. Tyler Northey, 34:17.2; 23. Quinn Erkkila, 36:36.0; 29. John Waltjer, 40:07.9; 30. Alex Peil, 40:43.6.

Girls Team Results

1. Cloquet-Esko-Carlton 385, 2. Proctor-Hermantown 377, 3. Duluth Denfeld 362, 4. Duluth Marshall 169.

CEC Girls Individual Results (Freestyle & Classic)

2. Anja Maijala, 33:27.1; 3. Erika Fox, 33:46.3; 6. Sylvie Deters, 38:24.2; 8. Kaylee Parks, 9:19.4; 9. Franny Slater, 39:24.4; 11. Courtney Gregory, 40:11.8; 14. Emma Waugh, 41:41.2; 17. Erika Blesener, 44:46.9; 19. Ashley Gregory, 47:14.7.