Weather Forecast


CEC closes out alpine, Nordic ski seasons

Photo provided by John Luomala

Esko's trio of downhill speedsters turned in a respectable finish for Cloquet-Esko-Carlton at the 2012 Minnesota state Alpine ski meet Wednesday afternoon at Giants Ridge in Biwabik, Minn.

Although results weren't finalized when the Pine Journal spoke with the Lumberjacks Coach Ryan Zimny, Zimny said Paige Tranah and Sarah Severson stood through both of their downhill attempts, while Alex DeRocher took a late bottom-of-the-hill fall on his second run.

Tranah, a sophomore, and Severson, a freshman, were making their state debuts, while DeRocher was making his second state trip back since his inaugural state event as an eighth-grader.

In the end, Severson took 39th, Tranah placed 52nd and DeRocher did not finish.

"All three are very hard workers and are always looking to get better," Zimny said from the race late Wednesday afternoon. "They all put in a lot of extra time into their skiing and it definitely pays off for them."

Zimny noted that getting to the state meet isn't easy, and said all three skiers represented their communities very well.

"Absolutely," Zimny said. "Today, I just told them to be aggressive skiers, but don't get out of control. It's great to see your skiers at this final high school meet, competing against the best in the state."

Nordic Skiing

The CEC Nordic ski team also closed its season on the paths at last Thursday's Section 7 Nordic meet at Giants Ridge.

Top girls finishers included Esko's Molly Meysembourg, Korbyn Danielson, Carlton's Erika Fox and Cloquet's Alyssa Michaelson.

Meanwhile the Lumberjacks boys were led by Carlton's Duncan Fox, Esko's Matt Rengo and Cloquet's Nolan Ripp and Josh Carlson.

The CEC girls finished in eighth place overall with 255 points and the boys took ninth with 238. Duluth East won both titles, advancing to Thursday's state meet.


The Lake Superior conference recently selected the following athletes to the alpine and Nordic 2012 All Conference teams:

Alpine Skiing

Girls First Team - Sarah Severson of Cloquet-Esko-Carlton; Lucy Billings of Duluth Denfeld; Cara Hanson of Duluth Marshall; and Megan Danelski, Olivia Tusa and McKenzie Bremel of


Girls Second Team - Paige Tranah, Carly Boder, Tori Anderson and Kaitlyn Knutson of Cloquet-Esko-Carlton; Rachael Humes of Hermantown-Proctor; and Kendall Bergerson of Duluth Marshall.

Boys First Team - Matthew Borash, Brendon Viaene and Hans Eggert of Hermantown-Proctor; Jonathan Thickens and JB Stender of Duluth Marshall; and Alex Carlberg of Duluth Denfeld.

Boys Second Team - Alex DeRocher, Isaac MacMillan and Sam Sinnot of Cloquet-Esko-Carlton; and Ben VanDeelen, Matthew Sandstrom and Jack Padden of Hermantown-Proctor.

Nordic Skiing

Boys Team - Matt Rengo of Cloquet-Esko-Carlton; Joe Fairbands, Sam Johnson and Cody Johnson of Duluth Marshall; Nate LaFond, Kai Larsen and Warren Rosholt of Duluth Denfeld; and Gavin Johnson, Matt Welsh and Jacob Welch of Proctor-Hermantown.

Girls Team - Molly Meysembourg, Korbyn Danielson, Erika Fox and Alyssa Michaelson of Cloquet-Esko-Carlton; Natalie Stauber, Anna VanDeeleen and Sierra Moen of Proctor-Hermantwon; Megan Coughlan and Ann Kleinschmidt of Duluth Marshall; and Madeline Stauber of Duluth Denfeld.