Weather Forecast


Fond du Lac primary election is April 1

The Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa will hold primary elections for two Fond du Lac Reservation Business Committee (RBC) positions — Secretary/Treasurer and Sawyer Representative — on Tuesday, April 1, in order to narrow the field of candidates to two for the June 10 regular election.

Candidates range from current and former office holders to relative newcomers to politics on the Reservation.

Candidates for Secretary Treasurer include, in alphabetical order: Pete Defoe, Mary Diver, Ferdinand Martineau (incumbent) and R.A. “Bob” Martineau.

There are eight candidates for Sawyer Representative including, in alphabetical order: Jodi Ammesmaki, Geraldine Defoe, Blake Evanson, John B. McMillen, Tina Sadler, Bruce M. Savage, Brenda Shabiash and David Tiessen (incumbent).

Most of the candidates took the opportunity to write candidate statements for the March issue of the Reservation newspaper, Nahgahchiwanong Dibahjimowinnan, which is also accessible online at

No write-in candidates will be recognized.

Polls will open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, April 1.

Polling places are:

District I: Fond du Lac Community Center, 1720 Big Lake Road

District II: Sawyer Community Center, 3243 Moorhead Road

District III: Brookston Community Center, 8200 Belich Road

Eligible voters are enrolled members of the Band, 18 years old or older. To be eligible to cast a ballot, according to the Band’s election ordinance, a voter must meet all constitutional requirements. To vote for a committee person, the voter must have resided in that district for at least 30 days immediately preceding the election.

Votes should be certified and published by the General Reservation Election Board by April 3; candidates have until 5 p.m. April 4 to request a recount.