What to do if you are involved in a crashInformation courtesy of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, motorists who are involved in a crash must take certain actions to ensure safety and compliance with the law.
• You must stop if you are in a crash – drive out of the driving lane, onto the shoulder and out of traffic. Turn off the ignition to decrease the risk of fire.
• Once stopped and out of a traffic lane, avoid walking into the traffic lane when exiting your vehicle. Stay in your vehicle if you can with your seat belt fastened – you are safest inside your vehicle. If you need to exit the vehicle, attempt to exit on the non-traffic side. If you are assisting at a crash, approach a vehicle from the non-traffic side.
• Protect yourself and the crash scene from further damage. Warn other drivers of danger with four-way flashers, flares, flashlight, etc.
• If someone in the crash is injured or killed, the law requires that you call the nearest law enforcement agency or 911as quickly as possible.
• If you are qualified, administer first aid. Otherwise, do what you can to make injured persons comfortable. State law requires that you render reasonable assistance.
• You must give your name, address, date of birth and license plate number of the vehicle to other drivers in the crash.
• You must also, if requested, show your driver’s license. This same information must, by law, be provided to any law enforcement officer at the scene.
• If a person involved in the crash asks for your insurance information at the scene, you must provide the name and address of the carrier of your liability coverage and the name of your agent.
• Insurance information must be given to a law enforcement officer investigating the crash. If you do not have this information with you, you must provide it within 72 hours.
• If a crash results only in property damage, it is not necessary to notify law enforcement. If your vehicle is disabled, have it towed as soon as possible, but drivers should exchange information for the report.
If you are in a crash that results in personal injury, death or property damage totaling $1,000 or more, you (the motorist) must file a report with the Minnesota Department of Public Safety within 10 days. To complete the report, you will need certain information about the drivers, vehicles and crash scene. Record this information at the time of the crash to save time and ensure accuracy. Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Reports are available on the Web at www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs or through law enforcement agencies.
Tags: newsMore from around the web