Marriage law gets updatedThe 2009 Legislative Session passed HF695/SF548 making modifications to the state statute governing marriages in Minnesota (MS 517). These changes took effect Aug. 1, 2009.
The 2009 Legislative Session passed HF695/SF548 making modifications to the state statute governing marriages in Minnesota (MS 517). These changes took effect Aug. 1, 2009.
Some of the additional provisions or clarifications are:
• The “legal custodial” parent(s) must give consent and appeal to the courts for authorization for the child who has reached the age of 16 but is under the age of 18 years of age to marry;
• A person must be 21 years or older in order to perform marriages in Minnesota;
• Persons authorized to perform a marriage ceremony in Minnesota are required to assure that the couple has obtained a Minnesota marriage license and that the individuals appearing before them are the persons named on the marriage license;
• A Minnesota marriage license can only be used within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota.
• Both the bride and groom must apply for the marriage license;
• The social security numbers of the applicants will be collected and if they do not have a social security number they must certify as such;
• A person who has been convicted of a felony is restricted from changing his/her name unless they follow the procedure outlined in MS 259.13;
• The Educator’s Statement (required with a reduced fee marriage license) must be signed by the established educator, dated, notarized and appear on the educator’s letterhead in order to be accepted;
• Local registrars are allowed to charge a fee of $100 if the officiant fails to file the marriage certificate within five days of the marriage; and
• Other housekeeping issues pertaining to the marriage statute.
Review the entire statute to become familiar with marriage requirements. If you have questions, contact your County Local Registrar who administers Marriage Applications, Licenses and Certificates.